Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
I'm stuck. XT Engine Bogging #148496 07/22/20 11:31 AM
C
Catdawg Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi all,

Hope all is well wherever you are. Long time guest that just made an account within the last few months. First post. Let me see if this legendary forum can help out.

I recently changed the oil on my XT, filled it up a bit too much and had it bogging down. After a bit of research I found out that the oil might have been an issue.

I changed the oil again, cleaned the air filter and checked if it was as a result of oil coming into the airbox via the engine, but there was none there and after a good inspection and a clean... it still bogs down after a minute or two.

The engine seams to run pretty hot, and before it cuts out, the engine runs at high revs. I've attached a video to show what happens.

This bike wasn't by any means a well looked after bike (I just bought it), But it's mine and I love it. I am new to bikes and working on them myself, so any help would be great. I am not in a financial position to take it to the local mechanic. Hopefully you can help a young rider out. Link below

https://youtu.be/WneiCZUn7JQ

Cheers,

Andrew

Heaps good.
Re: I'm stuck. XT Engine Bogging [Re: Catdawg] #148497 07/22/20 12:48 PM
D
Dan Diego Offline
D
How long have you owned this bike?

Was it ever run out of oil or run on very low oil?

Is the air filter clean and not clogged with oil or debris? Bikes gotta breathe!

Re: I'm stuck. XT Engine Bogging [Re: Catdawg] #148498 07/22/20 02:15 PM
peejman Offline
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
First thing I noticed... don't turn the throttle when starting.