GREAT RIDES & STAYS!
Fab Ads
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#25284 - 09/04/07 01:16 PM Re: Reccomend me some gear ... [Re: steveyb]
BikinBud Offline

Loc: Michigan
I'm new to all this, but the best piece of gear I have including the xt is the motorcross boots I wear all the time I ride, street or trail. They seem awkward at first, they are very comfortable on the bike and you look like Klingon in them.

I wear a Motorsport nylon riding suite with their foam armour. I wear that all the time. I have worn it in 90 degree weather and 70% humidity. It is really only hot when you are sitting still. I have fallen on gravel with it. The bike broke a clutch lever, I only hurt my pride.

I use mechanics gloves, which have great feel, but I suspect the degree of protection could be better. I am still looking.

I have Simpson MX helmet with face shield (don't need the goggles). Comfortable helmet, well made, but whistles over 40. I wear ear plugs. There is an Italian helmet that is EC approved that is similar that I would try if I was buying another. Shoe and Arai make MX helmets with face shields,too. The Italian is supposedly quieter, quiet is good.

I'm a white water kayaker. In that activity you buy your safety gear first then with the cash left over you buy a boat. I think that is a good idea in motorbike riding.

#25292 - 09/04/07 06:07 PM Re: Reccomend me some gear ... [Re: steveyb]
NickR Offline
Member L3

Loc: West Yorkshire, UK
 Originally Posted By: steveyb
Nick, ask in a shop which are the Enduro boots or trials bike boots,they look the same (to me) as MX boots but have decent tread on the sole and are more flexible for walking in.But still give good protection. Try some on and find your size and look for a cheaper pair on the internet.

Are Trials and Enduro boots the same ?

My Website | Money Traffic Blog

#25293 - 09/04/07 06:09 PM Re: Reccomend me some gear ... [Re: BikinBud]
NickR Offline
Member L3

Originally Posted By: BikinBud