Official XT225+250 Rider's Group Home Page

front wheel wobble

Posted By: quaziau

front wheel wobble - 12/30/19 03:24 AM

So, as a beginner, I've found that every time I fix something on this project bike, I break 2 things.

I changed out the front tube and tire. Put everything back in the same order it came off.

Now I have a wobble in the front wheel despite the axle nut torqued to spec. If I hold the front wheel between my knees, I have a bit of play on the handle bars.

Could I have done something to the forks that requires a steering head adjustment?

In the manual, it states to:

Make sure the projections on the meter clutch are "meshed" with the flats in the wheel hub.

Does that mean they should be...on top of each other?

The picture in the manual I have is extremely low res, and the only guide I could find on here is using photobucket images that have been killed over time.
Posted By: #brer15

Re: front wheel wobble - 12/30/19 11:40 AM

When placing the speedo meter on the wheel you need to rotate it to make sure it drops in and seats properly.

Re: front wheel wobble - 12/30/19 02:51 PM

It really feels like it went in properly. Before mounting, the speedo will rotate on the wheel smoothly. It kind of slips down into place. Hard to see in the hub with all the grease, but Iím not sure how else it could be mounted

Re: front wheel wobble - 12/30/19 03:39 PM

Yeah, I'm at a loss here. from brake side to clutch side:

Axle, washer, Fork, spacer & dust hood, Wheel, Speedo meter, Fork, washer, nut.

It almost feels like the washers should be inside the fork instead of outside, but I know thats not right.
Posted By: Muniac

Re: front wheel wobble - 12/30/19 07:01 PM

The XT225 forks will have some play in them. That doesn't mean loose play but just the ability to move the handlebars slightly from side to side with the wheel restrained. You should feel resistance when trying to move the bars. You can pull a misaligned wheel straight this way too.